Long run, steady run and a higher pace run

Sunday’s plan was an 8 mile run, which I decided to do in the evening when the kids were in bed so that I could spend the day with them. 

I had a route mapped out, so after completing my stretches off I went. 

Mile 1 was steady and I quickly settled into a rhythm. As this was the longest run I had attempted for a while, I decided not to wear the wrist weights as this was about distance. 

After settling into the run, the miles went by fairly easily. I was feeling comfortable throughout and before I knew it, I was already on the way home. 

The last mile was a struggle, but I think that is mainly in my mind as I always find the last bit of the run the most tiresome. When I’m on the way back up the hill to my house, my mind changes and I just want it to be done. This was not the case through the rest of this session, I enjoyed it and the Miles felt almost easy. 

Strava report https://www.strava.com/activities/1021434255/shareable_images/map_based?hl=en-US&v=1496605079
Monday was a rest day, so on to Tuesday where I had a 40 minute steady pace run to complete. 

As mentioned before, I find it easier to keep steady on a treadmill, so I completed this run indoors. 

Again, I set up my phone with a YouTube song compilation so that I could watch a video to take my mind off of being on the treadmill facing an uninteresting wall. 

The run was going well up to 30 minutes in, at which point my arm caught the emergency stop cord that was attached to my shorts and made the treadmill stop, losing all data to that point. I thought this was fine as I knew how long I’d completed so I set it all up again and got going for the last 10 minutes. 

This last 10 minutes were horrible. Stopping had completely destroyed my flow and I struggled for the whole of this section.  I wonder if part of the reason for this is that I knew I had completed more than the display was telling me. 

Anyway, I pushed through to the full 40 minutes overall and I have to ensure that I don’t accidentally stop the treadmill next time. 
Wednesday was a 5 mile easy run. When I set off, I thought I would use this run to try and push my pace. In my previous workouts I had been running slower than 10 minute miles average and I knew that this was not as fast as I can sustain over distance so now was the test. 

Using Strava, I get updates on time and pace through my earphones very 0.5 miles so I was concentrating on this in order to come in quicker. 

I was very pleased with the result! I was worn out when I got home and my last mile was my slowest (again, I think this is down to always struggling for this mile no matter how far I run). 

I managed an average pace of 9:14 per mile which was great news. It shows that I am still able to run a bit faster when I want to. There were even some negative splits which is also encouraging. 

Strava report https://www.strava.com/activities/1025574979/shareable_images/map_based?hl=en-US&v=1496859798

Off to London on Thursday, with a plan of 40 minutes tempo I. The evening, which again depends on what time I get back. If I’m home by 7pm, I will be able to complete this and looking at my diary for the day, this is a possibility. 

Leave a Reply

